Skip to main content

How To Know If A Third Party App Is Reading Your Gmail Inbox? How To Disable Gmail Access?

Last year, Google was criticised for accessing users’ inbox to show them relevant ads. In the time that followed, the search giant stopped its practices, but the ability for third-party apps to look into people’s Gmail inbox remained intact.
Recent reports have suggested that not just the computers and apps, even third-party developers are able to read people’s emails. And the practice doesn’t happen without the explicit consent of the users which doesn’t explicitly mention that the data accessed would be viewed by human eyes.
Google has also clarified that Gmail access to third party apps isn’t given without them being subjected to a thorough vetting process.
Anyway, there may or may not be some evil mind trying to access your Gmail. But taking an extra step towards your privacy and security is a must. You can find out what apps can look into your Gmail inbox.

How to check and disable apps from accessing your Gmail account?

Every setting associated to your Google account can be managed by visiting the My Account page. There you can find what third-party apps are connected to your Google account and what kind of data they’ve access to.
Follow the steps mentioned below:
  1. Sign-in to your Google account and go to the My Account page.
  2. Under Sign-in & security, click on Apps with account access.
    Disable Gmail Access Third Party Apps 1
  3. On the page, click on Manage Apps.
    Disable Gmail Access Third Party Apps 2
  4. Now, a list of all the apps (Google and non-Google) having access to your account is displayed. The level of permissions they’ve have is also shown.
  5. You can click on any app name to expand it and view what it can do with the permissions and when it was granted.
  6. Next, click on Remove Access to revoke all the permissions given to the particular app.
    Disable Gmail Access Third Party Apps 3
So, this way you can disable Gmail access for third-party apps. But you should also keep in mind that pulling the permissions may affect the normal operation of some apps that require Google services to work. For instance, if you’re using a Calendar app with your Google account, it should have read and write permission to edit your Google calendar.

“Has full access to your Google account” – What does it mean?

Out of the many apps connected to your account, some can only read basic information or access a couple of services. On the other hand, some have complete access to your Google account.
With full access, it can view and modify almost all of the information in your Google account. Still, there are few essential things it can’t do. For instance, it can’t change your password, delete your Google account, or make Google Pay transactions.
Mostly Google-made apps have full access to your account, but it could be given to third-party apps as well. However, if you don’t trust or recognize an app with full account access, you should remove access immediately.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

iOS 11.3 coming this spring with battery and performance settings, ARKit 1.5, new Animoji

In a sign that Apple will continue to update iOS regularly instead of withholding features for its next major point-zero release, Apple on Wednesday revealed new features coming to an iOS 11.3 update this spring, including the ability to toggle the power management feature for iPhone models with aging batteries. Apple will implement new battery health information and the ability to customize power settings after it was revealed that the company  throttles CPU performance on older devices  where the battery is deteriorating. Apple's throttling is done to prevent random shutdowns of the device and ensure smooth operation, but some customers took offense to the fact that the slowdowns were occurring without transparency to the user. In a press release issued on Wednesday, Apple said that the iOS 11.3 update this fall will show battery health, and recommend to users if their battery needs to be serviced. The capabilities will be available for iPhone 6 and later. Users will...

DJI Spark vs. Parrot Bebop 2 Which One Is The Best

It's a Parrot vs DJI drone showdown Earlier this year, DJI announced it would be taking on the entry-level, selfie drone market with its  Spark . Along with challengers like the  Yuneec Breeze , the smallest DJI quadcopter is priced within touching distance of the bigger  Parrot Bebop 2 . How do they compare? Weight The Bebop is significantly heavier than the Spark, but that extra weight is an advantage in some ways. More on that in a minute. Battery Parrot has slotted a big battery into the Bebop 2 – the original Bebop had an 1100 mAh unit, compared to the 2700 mAh pack in the latest Bebop 2. That translates to a healthy flight time, too. Flight Time Parrot has a massive advantage over DJI when it comes to flight time. The bigger battery in the Bebop affords it a healthy 25 minute flight time, compared to 16 minutes for the Spark. The heavier Parrot drone is also likely to stand up better to buffeting in high winds. Range Both d...

How To Turn Off Facebook Face Recognition System On App And PC?

When it comes to privacy features, Facebook probably has gone where no company has gone before. It includes unchartered territories like asking people’s naked pictures to help victims of revenge porn. Now, Facebook has introduced another privacy feature that can tell whether someone has uploaded your photo to Facebook’s network. Although it was first announced in December last year, recently the company has reached out Facebook users through their News Feed, notifying them that the face recognition system is being used “for more features.” Analyzing people’s faces and storing them has its benefits. For instance, people can know if someone has uploaded their picture, regardless of whether they’re tagged in it or not. Also, Facebook could tell you whether a stranger is using your photo as their profile picture and help visually impaired users identify people in photographs. Facebook doesn’t store people’s images directly; it creates a blueprint or face...